Rep Teams

Canterbury Team_optNZ Masters Championships 2018

The NZ Masters Individual and Team Championships were held last week at the Devoy Squash Centre. 

The Canterbury Team was:

Men: Simon Slade (Player/Manager) (MP), Scott Gardiner (BS), Jason Oxenham (MP), Tim Preston (CC), Grant Craig (MR), Alan Dallas (CM), Barrie Matthews (LN), Wayne Seebeck (CC) & Lawrence Skurr (CC)
Women: Astrid Heine (KK), Sue O’Connell (WA), Sue Wasley (BS), Pam Geard (HH), Karen Walton (CC), Freda Walker (CF) & Judy Smith (BS)

nz masters 2_optThere were 2 stand out performances in the individuals with Jason Oxenham winning the 45+ title and Judy Smith winning the 65+ title. A super effort by both that we were all very proud of. 

Unfortunately, before the team’s event started we lost Jason and Scotty to injury which made for a very tall order to maintain our number 1 seeding. 

First up we look on Wellington and moved past them relatively easily. The next day we had a semi-final against Waikato and while we put up a pretty brave fight we eventually went down 7-4. 

In our 3rd/4th play off we went down, again in a very close battle, to Bay of Plenty which saw us finish 4th overall. 

It was a fantastic trip with a great bunch, special thanks to everyone in the team and Dean for helping get us around.

Let the training begin for Timaru in 2019!  

 nz masters 3_opt 

<< Back

Grading & Tournaments:

Click here for iSquash

Find a Club:

Join us on Facebook:

Website by NZ Internet Services